Select Page


Ypnos is an Italian prog rock band from the Bologna area.

The lineup and band style went through several changes until 2010, when they reached the actual balance: Marco Govoni on bass and syncopation, Davide Morisi on guitars and harmony lessons, Valentino Bosi on keyboards and 8-bit noises, Giacomo Calabria on drums and wisdom and Christian Peretto on vocals and obscure words.
Each member has a long-standing experience and their musical backgrounds are mostly disparate with few common influences, spanning through the last 50 years of rock, pop, electronic music and rock operas. This heterogeneous mixture of tastes lead to a hybrid songwriting style where melody, moods and lyrics constantly chase each other.
Ypnos rarely indulge on their own melodies, keeping every song as tight as they feel comfortable with. No useless super long solos or over repeated riffs. This is a compelling mantra in the band’s natural modus operandi, as the intimate and cerebral style of the lyrics.

Beholder is the band’s first album, self-produced with a very successful crowdfunding campaign, mixed and mastered by the long experienced musician, engineer and producer Roberto Priori at PriStudio.
The album features 10 songs, including the 7-tracks “Tyranny Suite”. Being more a musical travel through human brain in 7 distinct steps than a canonical suite, “Tyranny Suite” is a straight statement: humans are enslaved by their own emotions, from birth to death. Emotions are tyrants we either learn to cope or yield under their power.
The 10 tracks from Beholder vary through very different styles, from the metal/prog-metal oriented “Arachnophobia” and “March of The Tyrants”, to the progressive rock “State of Grace” and “The Ending”, through the popish “Reality”.

Ypnos try to explore themselves in every song, as an endless journey through colors and music, as harvesting within the deepest cuts, throwing away all in excess, until only music and basic emotions remain.

Ypnos is:

  • Christian Peretto, voices
  • Davide Morisi, guitars
  • Marco Govoni, bass
  • Valentino Bosi, keyboards
  • Giacomo Calabria, drums

Utilizzando il sito, accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da parte nostra. maggiori informazioni

Questo sito non utilizza cookie di profilazione utente, ma solo per fonire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o cliccando su "Accetta" permetti il loro utilizzo.